A Whole New Mind Kindle eBook view Audible audiobook

01 March 2019

A Conspiracy of Bones by Kathy Reichs

Enter for a chance to win one of 100 early copies of Kathy Reichs's new Temperance Brennan novel, A CONSPIRACY OF BONES! Tempe must use all her tradecraft to discover the identity of a faceless corpse and its connection to a decade-old missing child case.

01 March 2019

What's Left of Me Is Yours by Stephanie Scott

*ARC GIVEAWAY*
A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime, for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny, What's Left of Me Is Yours charts a young woman's search for the truth about her mother's life--and her murder.


PRAISE FOR WHAT'S LEFT OF ME IS YOURS:
“Remember that new-discovery, time-stopping, every-moment-is-magical kind of love? That's what it felt like to read this novel. Then limerence turns to passion which leads to tragedy and suddenly this book is impossible to put down as you speed toward a conclusion that is as surprising as it is satisfying.”
—Jamie Ford, bestselling author of HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET

"At once luminous and captivating, What's Left of Me is Yours is the best kind of fiction: it tells a truth. All the easy lies about love fall away, as Stephanie Scott explores its often bitter, twisting, aching core. This is a brilliant, haunting book."
—Rene Denfeld, bestselling author of THE CHILD FINDER and THE BUTTERFLY GIRL

"Beautifully written, atmospheric, and immersive, Stephanie Scott’s What’s Left of Me Is Yours tells a propulsive story about heartbreak and loss and the greatest mystery of all, family."
—Laurie Frankel, bestselling author of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS

"A brilliant debut."
—Louise Doughty, author of PLATFORM SEVEN and APPLE TREE YARD

01 March 2019

The Yellow Wall-Paper by Sara Barkat

Intriguing vision of a timeless feminist tale! Fabulous illustrations. Fascinating new perspectives. Great for art and comic lovers, classrooms, and library collections. Enter to win 1 signed copy (signed by Sara Barkat, illustrator).

01 March 2019

When I Was You by Minka Kent

A stolen identity leads a woman down a dark and desperate path in a gripping novel of psychological suspense by Wall Street Journal bestselling author Minka Kent.

After barely surviving a brutal attack, Brienne Dougray rarely leaves her house. Suffering from debilitating headaches and memory loss, she can rely only on her compassionate new tenant, Dr. Niall Emberlin, a welcome distraction from the discomfiting bubble that has become her existence.

But Brienne’s growing confidence in her new routine is shaken when she stumbles across unsettling evidence that someone else is living as…her. Same name. Same car. Same hair. Same clothes. She’s even friended her family on social media. To find out why, Brienne must leave the safety of her home to hunt a familiar stranger.

What she discovers is more disturbing than she could have ever imagined. With her fragile mind close to shattering, Brienne is prepared to do anything to reclaim her life. If it’s even hers to reclaim.

01 March 2019

For the Betterment of the World by Jeremiah Cain

A quarter of the haggard populace must flee, hide, or die when they face the question: what do you do when your own home declares you wicked and demands your death?

Within this dark epic fantasy, the largest church of a medieval-like empire condemns a minority church as evil. Soon, a soldier struggles with orders to kill, as he must decide if what is “right” can change by Church decree.

A normal townswoman must fight as her people are sentenced to death in the empire where they’ve lived all their lives.

Far away, two men from conflicting nations attempt to forge a relationship while trying to forge an alliance.

Farther still, an elf boy sees the destruction of his peaceful home for nothing but a would-be weapon.

Finally, a small nation must call on the Dark for help when the Light betrays them.

Throughout the world of Perdinok, a range of people have their lives upended as unrest turns to civil war and turns to war on other nations. In the end, the sanctimonious empire unearths an ancient power that threatens all. Only a Demoness can put things right, but she holds her own agenda.

01 March 2019

Paper Wife by Laila Ibrahim

I'm starting the New Year with a giveaway. Enter to win a copy of Paper Wife.

4.5 stars and 850+ ratings

From the bestselling author of Yellow Crocus comes a heart-wrenching story about finding strength in a new world.

Southern China, 1923. Desperate to secure her future, Mei Ling’s parents arrange a marriage to a widower in California. To enter the country, she must pretend to be her husband’s first wife—a paper wife.

On the perilous voyage, Mei Ling takes an orphan girl named Siew under her wing. Dreams of a better life in America give Mei Ling the strength to endure the treacherous journey and detainment on Angel Island. But when she finally reaches San Francisco, she’s met with a surprise. Her husband, Chinn Kai Li, is a houseboy, not the successful merchant he led her to believe.

Mei Ling is penniless, pregnant, and bound to a man she doesn’t know. Her fragile marriage is tested further when she discovers that Siew will likely be forced into prostitution. Desperate to rescue Siew, she must convince her husband that an orphan’s life is worth fighting for. Can Mei Ling find a way to make a real family—even if it’s built on a paper foundation?

01 March 2019

The Velvet Rope Economy by Nelson D. Schwartz

*EARLY COPY GIVEAWAY*
From New York Times business reporter Nelson D. Schwartz comes a gripping investigation of how a virtual velvet rope divides Americans in every arena of life, creating a friction-free existence for those with money on one side and a Darwinian struggle for the middle class on the other side.


PRAISE FOR THE VELVET ROPE ECONOMY:
“A masterpiece of beautifully written, carefully reported social commentary...It is an indictment, a warning, a prediction, and a nuanced vision of our society. This book will become essential reading to understand this moment.”
—Adam Davidson, co-founder of Planet Money and author of The Passion Economy: The New Rules for Thriving in the Twenty-First Century

“You’ll never look at boarding a plane—or privilege and polarization—the same way.”
—Charles Duhigg, bestselling author of The Power of Habit

“How often have you gritted your teeth as someone strolled past you to the front of the line? Or watched the curtain close to block your view of the passengers in first class? Schwartz decided not just to document all the ways our business culture has learned to cater to the rich at the expense of the rest of us, but to explain why it matters. It's an eye-opening exploration of a trend with many consequences, none of them good.”
—Joe Nocera, columnist, Bloomberg Opinion, and author of A Piece of the Action: How the Middle Class Joined the Money Class

01 March 2019

Bird Hugs by Ged Adamson

Bernard isn’t like other birds. His wings are impossibly long, and try as he might, he just can’t seem to fly. He’s left wondering what his wings are good for…if they’re even good for anything at all. But a chance encounter with a dejected orangutan leads Bernard to a surprising discovery: that maybe what makes him different is actually something to be embraced.